My Letter to Kate Middleton

I never thought that I could possibly have anything in common with the beautiful Kate Middleton, other than a love of pretty clothes and patent nude heels. But now as I contemplate the closing weeks of pregnancy, I realise I finally have an affinity with the girl they call K-Middy. We are poles apart in status and lifestyle but we are both playing a waiting game.

I’d love to know how Kate is feeling right now. I remember when her pregnancy was announced following that awful bout of chronic morning sickness she had. I too had just discovered my pregnancy but I could ride out my nausea in private whilst poor Kate had to present an award to David Beckham live on BBC TV. I remember looking at her face on telly that night and being sure she was trying really hard not to spew all over Beckham’s shiny shoes.

Now 9 months down the line, we are both waiting for that moment when our first child decides to (literally) descend into the World. Yet once again, I am able to enjoy anonymity whilst poor Princess Catherine has to endure the weight of the World’s expectations on her poor, knackered shoulders. I feel very sorry for her but I like to imagine that at least I kind of know how she might be feeling as she waits patiently for those first signs of Baby W’s (as in Windsor) arrival….so much so that I thought I would write her a letter……

Dear Kate,

I hope you are well?

I was sitting here in bed this morning, propped up by a million cushions (something I used to enjoy doing on a Sunday morning but which – like many other things I once enjoyed – is now a rather uncomfortable pastime) when I found myself wondering if you too were lying on your side stroking your enormous tummy and wondering when that miracle inside there would make an appearance.

You’re probably a bit closer to your due date than I am but I’m pretty sure we might be feeling the same things right now, except the pressure on your shoulders is about a Gazillion times worse than it is for me. My baby isn’t the future heir to the throne but he or she is still the single most important thing in my husband’s and my universe right now so I think I can relate a little bit to you as we wait for those elusive signs of early labour to appear.

Is every tiny twinge sending you into a whirl? Do you analyse every movement your baby makes and wonder how it feels in there, squished up in that tiny space? Do you spend hours looking at and feeling your bump as it goes routinely rock hard and squishily soft with those pesky fake contractions?

I wonder if you too spend most of your days waddling to the toilet whilst your baby bounces merrily on your bladder, desperate with thirst but knowing that every drink will stay in there for a maximum of 5 minutes before your compacted bladder needs more relief.

I wonder if you wake up every morning with stiff, sausage like fingers and swollen feet which hurt to put on the floor? (I know a great exercise for this that I learned at my birthing class, if you’re interested?)

I bet with your wondrous wardrobe you haven’t yet run out of clothes to cover your enormous waistline? But it’s been a struggle in this heat wave hasn’t it! I have a couple of trusty dresses that cover my gigantic body without looking too tent-like, but sadly not the gross varicose veins that have sprung up in my left leg…my husband calls one of them ‘T.V’ as in ‘The Vein’ because it’s so scary looking – I bet Wills isn’t that mean, but then humour is kind of the best way to go at the moment, and it is kind of an ugly vein to be fair.

Have you spent hours Googling ‘Signs of Labour’ and ‘What to do if my waters break’ on your iPhone? I’ve tried not to look up every symptom but its not easy.

Wouldn’t it be great to know when the baby was going to come? It’s so frustrating not knowing! I know you have the World’s media waiting for you to have your baby and I just have my friends and family who are interested but do you feel a bit isolated in your own head as you try not to worry about what awaits you?

Every now and again I stop worrying for a moment and imagine how fabulous it will be to finally meet my baby, I bet you can’t wait to hold them against you either and see who they look like the most (hopefully you!).

Have you got any plans to make your Labour more comfortable and personal? I’ve decided to put a Labour playlist together on my iPhone, music always calms me down and every time I think of a special song I add it on to the list, currently it’s mostly Bruce Springsteen songs but I think Baby Smith will like that as we sing them in the car all the time. I’ve also put some Percy Pigs in my hospital bag, I know sweets aren’t advised but who cares? Whatever makes you feel better, right?

I’ve been told that giving birth is like running a marathon, I bet you’ve done that already? I have and I prefer not to think of it that way because that marathon was not a comfortable experience! Plus I only got medal and a squidgy banana at the end of it, hopefully Baby Smith will bring something more fulfilling than that!
I think the best thing we can do is follow the advice of my lovely midwife and also my Daisy Birthing coach (both of whom I wish could be there with me when it all kicks off!), and that advice is to approach Labour positively, make it our own experience and remember that every contraction just brings us closer to meeting that little person we helped create.
Remember that we were built to do this and to have faith in our bodies! And most importantly we will have the support of our Husbands there. I bet Will is so excited, I know my husband Andy is. I also know that if he is there to hold my hand, I’ll be okay. He is half of this person inside me so it is just as important to him as it is to me. I think sometimes the Dad gets a bit left out, don’t you?

Anyway, I’m getting all Emoshe now so I will stop babbling on.

I just want to wish you all the best! I hope it all goes well and that you get some kind of privacy from the media circus outside the hospital…have you considered a home birth?!

I can’t wait to see the post birth outfits (yours and Baby W’s!). Plus, if you’re still stuck for names I think Siân would be pretty cool for a girl?! 🙂

All the best and lots of love
Siân and Bump xxx

Does anyone have a forwarding address for Kate?

20130721-084943.jpg

Leave a comment